NCMH Wins Four Zero-Harm Awards

 In Local News

Newberry Hospital is proud to be recognized for winning four 2021 Zero Harm Awards for eliminating medical errors and creating a culture of high reliability throughout our facility by the South Carolina Hospital Association (SCHA).

Newberry Hospital was also recognized for winning the Drive to Zero Suicide Award. Despite the challenges of a global pandemic, which continues to put stress on staffing and equipment, Newberry Hospital continues to rise to the challenge of putting patient safety first.

SCHA’s Zero Harm Awards were started in 2014 to celebrate hospitals who have had extended harm-free stretches in major areas of surgery and other common medical procedures. These awards demonstrate that a culture of patient safety and a commitment to providing highly reliable care are cornerstones of South Carolina hospitals. All the hospital data used for these awards is independently verified by the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control.

“The Zero Harm program is a prime example of a successful partnership between the public and private sector that improves the quality of life in South Carolina,” says Karen Reynolds, Executive Director of Innovation at SCHA. “As medical errors and other types of harm continue to be a major concern across the country, South Carolina has developed a blueprint for reducing avoidable harm in our healthcare facilities that other states can follow.”

“We are tremendously proud of the commitment our facility and staff have to eliminating harm and maintaining our culture of high reliability, even in these most trying and demanding of times,” says Bruce Baldwin, Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

“These Zero Harm Awards are a testament to the strength and resilience our entire team has shown over this past two years.”

This year 58 hospitals won 223 Zero Harm Awards for their commitment to delivering highly reliable care. These awards represent 314,414 patient days without harm with a projected savings of $5.72 million dollars. For more information about this year’s awards and a full list of winners, go to